Today I noticed: silence in the streets as President Obama gave his inaugural speech. I noticed everywhere I went, for the rest of the day, people of all colors smiling to themselves. Some cried openly at the mention of this day. The image of an unclenching fist meeting an open hand will not be shaken from my memory.

Today I noticed: a new sense of hope, and personal responsibility. On Twitter, I noticed a few who continued complaining, griping and angrily doubting this hope. There was no retaliation, only patience. Their pessimism is also a sickness and some will not be cured.

As I left for school I drove over what looked like an entire deck of cards, scattered and torn in the street. A radio announcer observed former president Bush had boarded his last official flight. It was the perfect symbolism. “Game over.”

